Romans 1:8-17

Today, I continue my translation of Paul’s letter to the Romans with my translation of Romans 1:8-17.

Greek

My Translation

NRSV

8 Πρῶτον μὲν εὐχαριστῶ τῷ θεῶ μου διὰ Ἰησοῦ Χριστοῦ περὶ πάντων ὑμῶν, ὅτι ἡ πίστις ὑμῶν καταγγέλλεται ἐν ὅλῳ τῷ κόσμῳ. First, I give thanks to God through Jesus Christ concerning all of you because your faith is proclaimed in the whole world. First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith is proclaimed throughout the world.
9 μάρτυς γάρ μού ἐστιν ὁ θεός, ᾧ λατρεύω ἐν τῷ πνεύματί μου ἐν τῷ εὐαγγελίῳ τοῦ υἱοῦ αὐτοῦ, ὡς ἀδιαλείπτως μνείαν ὑμῶν ποιοῦμαι For God is my witness, who I serve with my spirit in the gospel of his Son that unceasingly I remember you For God, whom I serve with my spirit by announcing the gospel of his Son, is my witness that without ceasing I remember you always in my prayers,
10 πάντοτε ἐπὶ τῶν προσευχῶν μου, δεόμενος εἴπως ἤδη ποτὲ εὐοδωθήσομαι ἐν τῷ θελήματι τοῦ θεοῦ ἐλθεῖν πρὸς ὑμᾶς. always in my prayers, asking if somehow by God’s will I may now at last succeed in coming to you. asking that by God’s will I may somehow at last succeed in coming to you.
11 ἐπιποθῶ γὰρ ἰδεῖν ὑμᾶς, ἵνα τι μεταδῶ χάρισμα ὑμῖν πνευματικὸν εἰς τὸ στηριχθῆναι ὑμᾶς, For I long to see you, in order that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to support you, For I am longing to see you so that I may share with you some spiritual gift to strengthen you–
12 τοῦτο δέ ἐστιν συνπαρακληθῆναι ἐν ὑμῖν διὰ τῆς ἐν ἀλλήλοις πίστεως ὑμῶν τε καὶ ἐμοῦ. or rather that we may be encouraged together by each other’s faith, yours and mine. or rather so that we may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine.
13 οὐ θέλω δὲ ὑμᾶς ἀγνοεῖν, ἀδελφοί, ὅτι πολλάκις προεθέμην ἐλθεῖν πρὸς ὑμᾶς, καὶ ἐκωλύθην ἄχρι τοῦ δεῦρο, ἵνα τινὰ καρπὸν σχῶ καὶ ἐν ὑμῖν καθὼς καὶ ἐν τοῖς λοιποῖς ἔθνεσιν. Now I do not want you to be aware, brothers, that I have often intended to come to you, but up to now I have been prevented, in order that I may reap some harvest among you as well as the rest of the Gentiles. want you to know, brothers and sisters, that I have often intended to come to you (but thus far have been prevented), in order that I may reap some harvest among you as I have among the rest of the Gentiles.
14 Ἕλλησίν τε καὶ βαρβάροις, σοφοῖς τε καὶ ἀνοήτοις ὀφειλέτης εἰμί· I am a debtor to both Greeks and barbarians, to the wise and to the foolish, I am a debtor both to Greeks and to barbarians, both to the wise and to the foolish,
15 οὕτως τὸ κατ’ ἐμὲ πρόθυμον καὶ ὑμῖν τοῖς ἐν Ῥώμῃ εὐαγγελίσασθαι. so I am eager to preach the gospel to you also who are in Rome. — hence my eagerness to proclaim the gospel to you also who are in Rome.
16 οὐ γὰρ ἐπαισχύνομαι τὸ εὐαγγέλιον, δύναμις γὰρ θεοῦ ἐστιν εἰς σωτηρίαν παντὶ τῷ πιστεύοντι, Ἰουδαίῳ τε πρῶτον καὶ Ἕλληνι. For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to all who believe, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. For I am not ashamed of the gospel; it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who has faith, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.
17 δικαιοσύνη γὰρ θεοῦ ἐν αὐτῷ ἀποκαλύπτεται ἐκ πίστεως εἰς πίστιν, καθὼς γέγραπται, ὁ δὲ δίκαιος ἐκ πίστεως ζήσεται. For in it the righteousness of God is revealed through faith into faith, as it is written, “The righteous shall live by faith.” For in it the righteousness of God is revealed through faith for faith; as it is written, “The one who is righteous will live by faith.”

One thought on “Romans 1:8-17

  1. Pingback: African Music Discussed

Leave a comment