Some Excellent News About The Biblioblog Library

A while back, the Biblioblog Library was unexpectedly taken down by the host. Since then, Steve has been hard at work to bring the Biblioblog Library back. Here’s the most recent updates provided from Steve.

April 1:

No, no April Fool’s joke.🙂 Today I am picking through the pieces of the old database fragmentary backups to try and get together a new database schema for the next step in restoring the Library. Work is slow due to my other obligations (family, work, grants, and other hobbies) but I’m hoping to get something basic working by the end of this week. Keep your fingers crossed for me. – Steve

April 1 #2:

I now have a schema developed and I’ll be uploading it to the server to test it out. This will require some modifications to the old Archivist and Hit Counter scripts (mostly some trimming) but if those modifications are successful, I can start harvesting hit and post data to tinker with. -Steve

April 1 #3:

A preliminary Archivist script is now ready for testing. If this works, I can begin rebuilding the database. -Steve

April 2:

Well, after being on the phone for 45 minutes, it turns out that one of the reasons why the server was so God-awful slow is that it’s still running on a legacy system. I’ve been told that I need to get rid of some old MySQL 4.1 databases (I didn’t even know I still had a few lying around) and they can upgrade the server account to their “new” Grid system. -Steve

April 2 #2:

All MySQL 4.1 databases are toast, and I’m now on the phone again waiting for the upgrade. -Steve

April 2 #3:

I’m now waiting for the first server migration. This part of it could take up to 24 hours before I can continue. From there, the upgrade to the “Grid” will take another 24-72 hours, and from there we can start things cooking.🙂 -Steve

You can visit the site to get the latest updates!

Leave a Reply

