What I’m Reading: Sci-Fi Edition

For those who enjoy sci-fi, you may want to check out John Scalzi‘s serial novel, entitled The Human Division. So far, nine installments out of thirteen have been released. I’ve been picking them up as they’ve been released usually read them in the next day of so. Serial novels are a neat idea. It’s basically like reading a chapter a week. After all the serials have been released, they will be collected and released in one volume. Have enjoyed the series, I’m picking them up in serial form…and will probably pick up the final collected book as well.

If you aren’t familiar with Scalzi’s Old Man’s War universe, I would suggest that you start with the other books in the series as they give you the essential background necessary for understanding what’s going on in The Human Division:

Old Man's War The Ghost Brigades The Last Colony

Technically, The Human Division is the 5th work in the series. However, Zoe’s Tale is a retelling of The Last Colony told from the perspective of a different character. I haven’t read it…and really don’t plan to…

Anyways, here are the episodes of The Human Division that have been released so far.

The B-Team (The Human Division, #1) Walk the Plank (The Human Division, #2) We Only Need the Heads (The Human Division, #3) A Voice in the Wilderness (The Human Division, #4) Tales From the Clarke (The Human Division, #5) The Back Channel (The Human Division, #6) The Dog King (The Human Division, #7)

The Sound of Rebellion (The Human Division, #8) The Observers (The Human Division, #9)

Here are the final four episodes:

This Must Be the Place (The Human Division, #10) A Problem of Proportion (The Human Division, #11) The Gentle Art of Cracking Heads (The Human Division, #12) Earth Below, Sky Above (The Human Division, #13)

So far, I think The Human Division is excellent. I love the idea of the serial and I absolutely love what I’ve read so far. I’m really interested to see where Scalzi will end up.

Another series I have greatly enjoyed is The Expanse by James S.A. Corey.

The Butcher of Anderson Station (Expanse 0.5) Leviathan Wakes (Expanse, #1) Caliban's War (Expanse, #2) Gods of Risk

The third novel of the series is set to release on June 4th. I would also expect a novella to be released some time after…but that’s just a guess.

Abaddon's Gate (Expanse, #3)

Again, this is an excellent series. I just finished up Caliban’s War and can’t wait for Abaddon’s Gate to come out.

What does this any my last post on the comics I’m reading have to do with theology…absolutely nothing! I just felt like sharing what I’m  currently reading. Expect to see more of these posts.

(Note: If you’re interested in purchasing any of the books, click on the cover art and you’ll be redirected to the Kindle ebook page.)

Leave a Reply

