What I’m Reading: Comic Edition

I’ve been getting back into reading comics as of late. Last year, I managed to read through the Green Lantern Rebirth and subsequent stories leading up to and going through the Blackest Night/Brightest Day arcs. I’ve even made it through the first volume of the Green Lantern, Red Lantern Corps and New Guardians that are a part of DC’s New 52.

In that same vain, I have begun working my way through several of the New 52 comics surrounding Batman. Here’s what I’ve picked up so far:

 Batwoman Vol 1: Hydrology

I have to admit, I liked this. There was plenty of action, a little bit of the supernatural, and one tough-as-nails female character. Kate Kane has suffered loss, has a massive chip on her shoulder and just kicks ass! I can’t wait to read more of this.


Batgirl Vol 1: The Darkest Reflection

I liked this one as well. Barbara Gordon is no longer Oracle. Having regained the use of her legs, Barbara resumes her place as Batgirl! I liked the story with Mirror.  Not a big fan of the Gretel story. Looking forward to more, but will see how this pans out.


Batman Vol 1: The Court of Owls

This has been my favorite so far. That’s saying a lot. Growing up, I wasn’t much of a fan of Batman. I love this story line involving the Court of Owls and can’t wait to see where it goes, especially as it crosses over with some of the other characters, especially Nightwing.


Batwing Vol 1: The Lost Kingdom

I want to like Batwing, I really do. But so far, I’m not impressed. I don’t know what it is about this comic, but I just can’t get into it. I will give it until volume 2. If I’m not sold then, I will stop reading.

That’s it for now.

Leave a Reply

