Apps I Use For Blogging

Image representing iPad as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

I like to share what apps I’m using most frequently for blogging, so here is my up-to-date list (sorted by device).

Mac

  • Evernote-Cloud based notes, very versatile and able to be synced across all my devices. This is a must have. I find the free version is sufficient for my needs.
  • Catch-Another cloud based note app. Not as flashy as Evernote, but still comes in handy.
  • Pocket-Formerly ‘Read It Later‘. I love this app. I use this to save those random web pages I find when i’m surfing the web.
  • Reeder-My RSS reader of choice. Syncs with Google Reader and can share with Twitter, Pocket, Evernote, Facebook and Instapaper. I just wished I could share with Google +.
  • Logos-While I don’t have any of the big packages, I do have Luther’s Works. Nice to have access to 55 volumes in one convenient location.
  • Kindle for Mac-I don’t usually read from my laptop, but will go back and make notes on my highlights. 
  • MarsEdit-My blogging app of choice on my laptop.

iPad

  • Evernote
  • Catch
  • Pocket
  • Flipboard-I use Flipboard more for the political and tech stuff I read. Keeps my RSS reader focused on religion and theology.
  • Reeder
  • Instapaper-I don’t always have time to read blog posts when I’m going through Reeder. All I have to do is send them to Instapaper and I can read them when I have the time.
  • WordPress
  • Logos
  • YouVersion-As a Bible app, I love YouVersion as it has most of the translations I use (CEB, CEV, and NET). I only wish there was a NRSV version available. Translations can be downloaded for offline viewing.
  • Kindle

iPhone

  • Evernote
  • Catch
  • Pocket
  • WordPress-Not used for blogging per se. Mostly used for checking stats, comments, etc. when I’m out an about.
  • Poster-I don’t do much blogging from my phone, but when I do, this is my app of choice. It’s way better than the WordPress app.
  • YouVersion

Kindle Fire

  • Evernote
  • Catch
  • Pocket
  • Flipboard
  • Logos
  • YouVersion

I’m always on the lookout for good, new app. If you have any suggestion, feel free to send them my way.

Leave a Reply

