Review: Think Christianly

Think Christianly: Looking at the Intersection of Faith and Culture

Author: Jonathan Morrow

Paperback: 304 pages

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN: 978-0-310-32865-0

Zondervan

Amazon

In Think Christianly, Jonathan Morrow presents his framework for how Christians should interact with culture. I thought that this would be an interesting book to review, given my interest in the intersection of faith and culture. I’ve wanted to read this book since I saw the announcement last year, so I was excited when I saw the announcement for the blog tour.

I think that it is important to hear what those on the other side of the religious spectrum have to say, even if I disagree with them in the end. Hearing well thought out arguments that are opposed to mine allow me to explore my own arguments with the end result being a stronger argument or a newly formed argument for or against something. This book was no different.

The book is divided into three sections. In part one, Morrow discusses the intersection of faith and culture so the reader can get a better understanding as to why Christians must engage with culture. In part two, Morrow equips the reader to engage with culture. In part three, Morrow discusses those areas where he thinks Christians must engage with culture.

According to Morrow, Christians need a different way of engaging with culture in order to maintain it’s distinctiveness against culture. Part of the problem, as Morrow sees it, is “that the worldview out there is the worldview in here.” (19)  He goes further, stating, “the majority of Christians in America are not thinking or living like followers of Jesus Christ ought to. (25).

The first major issue that I had with the book was what Morrow considered to be a “biblical worldview”.

  1. Absolute moral truth exists.
  2. The Bible is totally accurate in all of the principles it teaches.
  3. Satan is considered to be a real being or force, not merely symbolic.
  4. A person cannot earn his or her way into heaven by trying to be good or do good works.
  5. Jesus Christ lived a sinless life on earth.
  6. God is the all-knowing, all-powerful creator of the world, and God still rules the universe today. (23)

Suffice it to say that I disagree with several points here and have questions regarding others.

The other big disagreement I have is Morrow’s three predominant worldviews: Naturalism, Postmodernism, and Christian Theism. I find it to be overly simplistic to say that there are three predominant worldviews.

That said, I found this book to be interesting. As I stated above, I enjoy well thought out arguments and though Morrow did an excellent job in that respect. His arguments are not born out of emotion, but are well informed based on his interpretation of Scripture. Just because I disagree with his conclusions doesn’t mean that I, or any other liberal Christian, shouldn’t read this book. Good arguments need to be engaged, not dismissed. And I think Morrow has a book worth engaging.

Disclaimer:

I received this book free from Zondervan as a part of the Think Christianly Blog Tour. Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

