The Common English Bible and Ginōskō

For tonight’s devotional, I read from Luke 1:26-38.  Everything was going fine until I got to verse 34:

Then Mary said to the angel, “How will this happen since I haven’t had sexual relations with a man?”

My wife looked at me and said, “Really Common English Bible?  Sexual relations?”  At first, I thought my wife was being silly, but the more I thought about, the more I have to agree with my wife.  It’s like I suddenly had a flashback to the ’90 and Bill Clinton.

At issue is the translation of the Greek γινώσκω (ginōskō, lit. to know).  We all know that “to know” is a Jewish idiom for sexual intercorse.

My question is this: Is sexual relations a good translation of γινώσκω?

3 thoughts on “The Common English Bible and Ginōskō

  1. It does seem a little broad, given that the phrase “sexual relations” could refer to other acts besides intercourse. Just translate it “Then Mary said to the angel, “How will this happen since I haven’t had sex with a man?” and zero in!

  2. Pingback: Using The CEB for Advent Devotions | Simul Iustus et Peccator

Leave a Reply

