Thanksgiving Reflections

Deuteronomy 8:7-18
Psalm 65
2 Corinthians 9:6-15
Luke 17:11-19

Today, many of us in the United States gather with friends and family to celebrate Thanksgiving.  And growing up, Thanksgiving was a big deal is my house.  That was because Thanksgiving was held at my house.  Both my mother and (most of) my fathers family would come down for the day.  My dad cooked the turkey and, for someone who doesn’t like it, made the best stuffing.  My mom made the pumpkin pies (not one of my favorite desserts).  And then, there was my grandmothers noodles…homemade noodles.  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

Sadly, those times have come and gone.  My parents live on the East Coast.  My wife and I live on the West Coast.  Thanksgiving has gone from a large production to a more low key day.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  There’s a 14 lb turkey cooking (for a family of 3!) along with mashed potatoes, broccoli casserole, dressing and pecan pie.  And of course, there’s plenty to be thankful for.

But I have to wonder, how many times are we like the nine lepers that don’t return to give thanks for what God has done for us?  How many times are we like the one that does return?

It’s no secret that this past year has been rough on me and my outlook is more akin to the nine than the one.  I don’t say that as a point of  pride, in fact, it’s the opposite.  I think my mindset best exemplifies the concept behind the name of the blog, simul iustus et peccator, at the same time saint and sinner.  Saint, in that I have been chosen by God.  Sinner in that I don’t always give God the praise and thanks that he is due for all that he has done in my life.

As we reflect on this Thanksgiving, let us take the time and give thanks for all that God has done for us this year.

Prayer of the Day
Almighty God our Father, your generous goodness comes to us new every day. By the work of your Spirit lead us to acknowledge your goodness, give thanks for your benefits, and serve you in willing obedience, through Jesus Christ, our Savior and Lord.

One thought on “Thanksgiving Reflections

  1. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! | American Freedom

Leave a Reply

