More Stupid Sayings

I’ve been meaning to post about this for a few day…but somehow it kept slipping by me.  Anyways, my favorite Nazarene Church updated their pithy sayings board earlier in the week to read:

Dusty Bibles lead to dirty lives.

On first glance, this statement seems harmless, but I doubt much thought went into it.

The implication is that people who read their Bibles don’t have dirty lives.  I call BS on this statement.

1) People who read their Bibles can and do lead “dirty” lives.

2) I doubt that the person who thought up of this statement took into account that some atheists read the Bible, probably more than some believers.  I doubt the author of the above statement would include atheists among those who are “clean”.  I would even go so far as to say that there are probably atheists out there that don’t read the Bible that lead “cleaner” lives than some Christians who do read their Bible.

Leave a Reply

