Review: Kingdom Ethics-Part 4

Kingdom Ethics

Authors: Glen H. Stassen and David P. Gushee

Hardcover: 540 pages

Publisher: InterVarsity Press

ISBN: 978-0-8308-2668-1

InterVarsity Press

Amazon

This is the final part in my review of Kingdom Ethic and covers Section VI and VII of the book.

In Section VI, the authors discuss the relationships of justice and love, building on the pevious section in which the authors discussed the topics of love and jusice.  I wasn’t overly impressed with this section.  There were times that I found myself wanting more than the authors provided.  I wanted them to take the next step, and was disappointed when they didn’t.  This was particularly true in the chapter on race.  While the authors touched on some important points in this chapter, I found it difficult to relate parts of the chapter to contemporary race issues.  When dealing with some topics, the authors would note that it is “now illegal to…”, but the authors did not venture far from just relating the issue.

Section VII is a relatively short section, compared to the others, and wraps the book up.  In this section, the authors discuss various practices in which one can participate in the kingdom.  A chapter is spent on the topic of prayer and one on political action.  The authors bring it all to a close in the final chapter by briefly reviewing the kingdom practices mentioned throughout the book.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book.  I was challenged by the authors to examine my beliefs and practices concerning ethical matters, but felt that it was done in a non-threatening way.  This is a book I will find myself referencing many times throughout my ministry.  I believe that this book should be required reading for ethics classes at the seminary level (and higher).

Disclaimer:

I received this book free from InterVarsity Press.  Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review.  The opinions expressed in this review are my own.   I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

