Interesting Week So Far

Yesterday, my wife asked me how I am doing spiritually.  To be honest, it’s been a rough couple of weeks.  But last night, I said I’m doing ok.  What led me to this point?

Well, this has been an interesting week.  Usually, when I say that, it’s not a good thing.  This week, however, is different.  I just feel as if God has been speaking to me through other people…people who don’t know me or my situation.  And yet, as I’ve been listening to podcasts the past couple days, they very well could have been made with me in mind.

First, there was the Woodland Hills Church podcast from last Sunday (‘The Chariman’s Plan’, Aug 7, 2011).  I’ve fallen into the trap that because something bad has happened to me that it must be a part of God’s will for me.  But here’s the thing, I don’t actually believe that, so why am I falling into this trap.  Things can happen outside of God’s will.  People can make decisions contrary to God’s will because of this little thing called free will.  So why am I going to let something I don’t believe cause me so much anxiety?  Simple, I’m not.

Then there was the Outlaw Preachers’ podcast (All Is Not Wrong).  If anything, just hearing all is not wrong is a powerful message for me.  This has been some of my struggle.  Yes, sitting at home, applying for jobs all day is pretty damn boring.  Yes, it sucks that I’m unemployed, but all is not wrong.  I have a healthy daughter and a lovely wife who puts up with by whining and bitching.  All is not wrong.  And there is hope.  No matter how bad things are right now, they can’t stay this bad forever.  I can only say thank you to Khad and Pastor Nar for this podcast.

In both cases, I feel that those involved just had something to say to me, even if they didn’t know it.

It has indeed been an interesting week so far.

Leave a Reply

