What Podcasts Do You Listen To?

In my never ending search for podcasts, I’m once again putting out a request for podcasts:

I’m currently listening to:

  • Outlaw Preachers
  • Losing My Religion
  • Homebrewed Christianity
  • [ad hoc] Christianity
  • Communio Sanctorum
  • TheoFantistique
  • Woodland Hills Church Podcast (Sermon)
  • Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly
  • Slate
  • NPR: Books
  • NPR: Religion
  • NPR: Pop Culture
  • NPR: Culturetopia
  • Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me!
  • Car Talk
What I’m really looking for is a few quality podcasts from the Orthodox tradition, but, I will take any and all recommendations.
6 thoughts on “What Podcasts Do You Listen To?

  1. Hello Craig,
    I frequent the Ancient Faith Radio website -http://ancientfaith.com/

    Depending on what you mean by “quality podcasts from the Orthodox tradition” – this site might interest you. I ‘liked’ it on Facebook and now see a daily feed of current and upcoming podcasts.

    By the way, I enjoy your blog.

    • Since I’m not Orthodox, I don’t know who the big name theologians are in the Orthodox tradition. So quality, in this case, would be one of the more well known Orthodox theologians. What shows do you listen to on Ancient Faith Radio?

      • I actually go by topic rather than a specific theologian because that is how they lay it out on the website. I am not Orthodox myself but the site seems to be well respected among Orthodox listeners (based upon blogs I have read) and it is funded mainly through listener donations (over $10K each month). Ancient Faith Radio is part of Conciliar Media Ministries “which operates under the auspices of the Antiochian Orthodox Archdiocese of North America. However, it is a pan-Orthodox ministry and thus serves and supports all jurisdictions.”

        Their contributors vary from Metropolitan’s, Orthodox Priests, and lay people. Sometimes they have a speaker read from an early church father’s writings. Of course, to a certain extent, I am listening with a filter of sorts that distinguishes how the Orthodox tradition understands a topic versus my own Lutheran tradition and understanding. Although I will admit that I have a limited understanding of the entire Orthodox tradition, I have never heard anything on a podcast that departed from the major tenents of the Orthodox faith.

        Their website is pretty extensive and it offers all sorts of topics. Take a listen and see what you think!

Leave a Reply

