Some Thought On My Change In Employment Status

As I was driving home earlier this morning, several thoughts crossed my mind:

  1. Crap! I’m unemployed. (Crap wasn’t necessarily what I was thinking, but for the sake of my readers, I’ll stick with that.)
  2. I hope that it doesn’t take me two years to find a job.  I keep hearing the horror stories of people who have been unemployed for two years and I pray, “Please God, don’t let this happen to me!.”
  3. I need to find a church will allow me the time and place to heal.  Let’s face it, the church as an institution has the power to heal, but it also has the power to do great harm.
  4. Along with #3, churches need to rethink their stance on unemployment compensation with regards to their lay staff.  As a 5o1(c)3, churches are able to opt out of paying into the unemployment program.  However, unlike most 501(c)3’s, they are also exempt from reimbursing the state for unemployment payments made.  In short, even though I was laid off, there is no recourse for me to collect unemployment.
One thought on “Some Thought On My Change In Employment Status

Leave a Reply

