Am I An Evangelical Reject?

Kurt Willems has an excellent post entitled You Might Be An Evangelical Reject If…  Despite the fact that I am very much a Mainline Protestant, I’ve never really considered myself and Evangelical reject (maybe more of a flunk-out because the doctrine didn’t stick)…I’ve actually never given it any real thought until now.

I’m not going to comment on all of Kurt’s list, but will pick out a few:

You’re uncomfortable calling other branches of Christianity “apostate.”

Yep, pretty much sums me up.

You read theologians from all across the spectrum.

All the time.  From Liberal to Conservative and everything in between.

You don’t use the word inerrancy to describe biblical authority because its too rigid a definition and a modernist categorical imposition on the Holy Spirit inspired Scriptures.

I actually shudder when I see the phrase “inerrant in the original manuscripts” in a church’s statement of faith.

You believe social justice is central to the gospel of the Kingdom.

A resounding YES! on this one.

You’re also an Anabaptist

In the truest sense of the word, baptized as an infant and again as a teen (I actually refer to the one during my teenage years as my second bath of the day…I only do it to tick off my mom ;)).

Yep, I guess I’m an Evangelical Reject too.

Take a look at Kurt’s post.  It’s well worth the read.

(As an aside to Kurt, thank you for posting this.  I’m glad to see that I’m in good company.)

One thought on “Am I An Evangelical Reject?

Leave a Reply

