Review: Social Justice Handbook

Social Justice Handbook: Small Steps for a Better World

Author: Mae Elise Cannon

Paperback: 304 pages

Publisher: InterVarsity Press

ISBN: 978-0-8308-3715-1

InterVarsity Press

Amazon

About three years ago, I asked my Ethics professor if there was a book that gave an overview of the different issues that were lumped into the social justice category.  The answer I got at that time was a round about no.  After years of searching on my own, I’ve finally found the book I was looking for.

This book is divided into two sections: Foundations of Justice and Social Justice Issues.

Foundations of Social Justice

This part of the book begins by looking at a biblical understanding of justice and how, as Christians, we are called to do justice in the world.  Cannon looks at justice from and Old Testament and New Testament perspective.  A brief history of social justice is covered as well as tips from moving from apathy (something a lot of congregations experience) to advocacy.  Cannon also looks at injustice and how churches and individuals can work do battle those injustices in our world.

Social Justice Issues

This part goes into a brief overview of the different issues that fall into the social justice category.  Broad topics are often broken down into smaller topics.  Take AIDS, for example.  This broad category is broken down into seven different, more narrowly focused categories.  I find this to be a helpful feature because someone might be interested in AIDS in Africa, but may not be interested in AIDS transmission.  Instead of reading a whole book on AIDS, one can read the section on AIDS in Africa.

There are several features in this book that stand out to me.  The first is the “For Further Study” section which provides relevant resources for the topic at hand.  As I research the issues that interest me, it’s nice to be directed to other resources.  The other feature that I really liked was the “Take Action” feature.  Practical ways to get involved in social justice is offered in these sections.

For me, this book is an invaluable resource.  It is something I wish I had during my last year of seminary.  This book is an excellent resource for congregations looking to get involved in justice issues.

Disclaimer:

I received this book free from InterVarsity Press.  Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review.  The opinions expressed in this review are my own.   I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

