Review: Radical Together

Radical Together

Author: David Platt

Paperback: 166 pages

Publisher: Multnomah

ISBN: 978-1-60142-372-6

Multnomah

Amazon

I enjoyed Radical, so I thought I would give Radical Together a shot.  Platt does not disappoint in his latest offering to the church.

In Radical, Platt calls on Christians to recover their faith from the American dream.  In Radical Together, Platt pushes us further out of our comfort zone and takes the next logical step in looking at the church.

In my first book, Radical, I explored how the biblical gospel affects individual Christian lives.  Simply put, in a world of urgent spiritual and physical need, gospel-believing, God-exalting men and women do not have time to waste their lives pursuing a Christian spin on the American dream.

In Radical Together, I want to consider what happens – or can happen – when we apply revolutionary claims and commands of Christ to our communities of faith. (1,2)

The challenge for me in reading Platt is making sense of his theological stance and interpretation of the Bible (both of which is vastly different than mine) and integrating what he is saying into my theology and biblical interpretation.   This isn’t something that happens consistently, but it does happen on occasion.  It those instances where this does happen, Platt challenges my theological stances and biblical interpretation and forces me to look at my preconceived notions.  This is not necessarily a bad thing.  I feel that I have matured as a Christian after reading Platt (I felt this way after reading Radical and after reflecting on Radical Together, I feel the same way).

I particularly like that the study guide in found in the back of the book (there was no study guide in Radical).  It just made sense to me to include it in the book, since this was written for the community of faith.

Overall, I found this to be a well written book.  Platt has a way of calling the church to account in a loving way and without being judgmental (in the derogatory sense of the word).  The book itself is a relatively quick read, something that is aided by Platt’s writing style (I read the book in less than a day).  While not written for every church (I think different churches are in different places in their spiritual life), this book is an excellent tool for those churches who want to take the next step in spiritual growth to lead the body of Christ to the next level of radical obedience.

Disclaimer:

I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah as part of their Blogging for Books Review program. Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Review: Radical Together

  1. Pingback: Book pick of the WEEK ! « Phillybookpick's Blog

Leave a Reply

