Christianity and Universalism

One in four born-again Christians hold universalist thoughts when it comes to salvation, according to a new Barna analysis of trend data.

Twenty-five percent of born-again Christians said all people are eventually saved or accepted by God. A similar proportion, 26 percent, said a person’s religion does not matter because all faiths teach the same lessons.

Twenty-five percent seems like a small, overall percentage of Christians who hold a universalist position regarding salvation.  I think the Christian Post exaggerates by using the word “many” in their title.  Twenty-five percent is some, in my book…just saying.

Many Born-Again Christians Hold Universalist Views, Barna Finds | The Christian Post

4 thoughts on “Christianity and Universalism

  1. I’m becoming increasingly suspicious of the use of words in the category of “universal” when it comes to theology and what we say about our faith. It seems we church folk are painting with a fairly broad stroke these days when it comes to using this label.

    On surface reading alone, there is a significant difference between saying ‘all people are eventually saved by God’ and in saying ‘all faiths teach the same lessons’. I’m also curious about the author of the article (perhaps Barna as well? I don’t know) throwing in the bit about 40% of Born Again Christians believing that Christians and Muslims worship the same God. I’m not certain how that relates to Universalism.

    And yeah, if 25% were ‘many’, I’d feel a lot happier about the number of quarters in my wallet.

    • Agreed. Universalism is painted in broad, and sometimes contradictory strokes. Rob Bell is a heretic while C.S. Lewis is a saint. Evangelicals (ala the Gospel Coalition) are the most vocal voices in the conversation and are drowning out the rest of the voices.

      I have coffee with several other youth pastors in the area each week. Shortly after Rob Bell’s book hit, they were reading Kevin DeYoung’s 20-page review and had their mind made up based off of that review. I merely pointed out that Bell’s position was very similar to Lewis’s position and they looked at me like my head popped off. I also pointed out that unless they had read Bell’s book, they had no room to criticize it. That went over well.

  2. Pingback: Are Evangelicals Losing the Argument of the Cross? | Unsettled Christianity

  3. These results seem a little too hard to believe. 25% of BAC holding universalist views? That seems massive. As someone who does hold universalist views, I would admittedly be pretty excited if that were true. I just hope they’re not the same pseudo-pluralist 25% shown, but I’ve got to think they are.

Leave a Reply

