Crisis of Faith and Change

I’m currently reading through Evolving in Monkey Town by Rachel Held Evans and I’m struck by many things. The main thing that strikes me as I read her book is how eerily similar her experience is to mine.

I hear of people who have a “crisis of faith” and come through it fundamentally changed. For me, that crisis of faith led me away from the Baptist church and ultimately led me to the Lutheran Church. It took some time. Things didn’t happen overnight. And there were times when it hurt. But, I came through. I weathered the storm and emerged with a stronger faith.

What’s really scary is one could say I am having another crisis of faith. What changes are in store for me on the other side? I joke with my wife about going Catholic or Orthodox. Is that where my crisis of faith will lead me? I think I’m much too good a Lutheran to end up in a different tradition…but I also thought the same thing as I was shedding my Baptist identity.

How long is this going to take? I’m impatient enough to want an immediate change. For those wondering, the answer to this question is 40 or as long as it takes (I am seminary trained, so I know in my head what the answer is; knowing the answer in my heart is a different thing altogether).

I’m not even going to question if this will hurt…I know it will.

I think it’s safe to say that things around here are going to get interesting as I move forward through this rocky time in my life. Things might get a little bumpy along the way, but it will be interesting to see where I emerge from this one.

Leave a Reply

