Sometimes God Does Speak…

…But it’s never in the way we expect.

Let’s face it, I’ve been questioning my call to ministry a lot lately.  Having a church decide your to defund your position would make just about anyone question why they got into ministry in the first place.  I don’t know if it was by design, if something posted here or on Facebook got passed along to some people or if the Holy Spirit moved someone to action.  Anyways, today, I received an email from a member of my internship congregation.

Just a bit of back story, all ELCA interns are required to do a project.  Mine was a feeding program for the homeless population, which I named ‘Nights of Hospitality’.  The premise behind ‘Nights of Hospitality’ was to involve the churches in Elizabeth City, NC to prepare and take food to the homeless population.  It took some work.  There was blood, sweat, and tears involved in this.  A lot of time was spent establishing relationships with the homeless population and another good chunk of time was spent pitching this idea to other congregations.  When I left in the summer of 2008, there were 4 churches involved in this new ministry.

Today, I received word that in the 2 1/2 years since I’ve left, that number has grown to 19!  That’s almost a 500% increase in ministry participation.  As near as I can tell from the email, there’s something like 50 people involved from all different denominations.  It warms my heart to see that this ministry has grown so much since I turned my project over to the congregation before my internship ended.  This was why I got into ministry.  To equip the people of God to do the work of God here on earth.

It’s amazing what God can do!

One thought on “Sometimes God Does Speak…

  1. How wonderful that the program is doing so well! Ministry is so challenging, but can also have such great rewards. Good luck in your search for a new church.

Leave a Reply

