Review: The Resurrection of Jesus-Part 4

The Resurrection of Jesus: A New Historiographical Approach

Author: Michael R. Licona

Paperback: 718 pages

Publisher: InterVarsity press

ISBN: 978-0-8308-2719-0

InterVarsity Press

Westminster Bookstore

Amazon

Review: Part 1

Review: Part 2

Review: Part 3

In Part 4 of the review of The Resurrection of Jesus by Michael R.Licona, I will look at Chapter 5.

5.  Weighing Hypotheses

In this final chapter, Licona looks at six different hypotheses pertaining to the resurrection of Christ.  “We will consider the proposals of Geza vermes, Michale Goulder, Gerd Lüdemann, John Dominic Crossan and Pieter Craffert.  We will follow these with a consideration of the resurrection hypothesis.” (469)  Using the criteria from 1.3.2 (pages 108-114) Licona considers each of the hypotheses and asses whether they pass the standard or fail.

In the end, Licona states that the best hypothesis is the resurrection hypothesis.  It is the only one to pass all the standards of the four criteria being used in this discussion.  Not a surprising conclusion, but

Overall, I found this book to be fascination.  While it did not change my belief pertaining to the resurrection of Jesus (which I do in fact hold to), I found this work to be a compelling argument.  For the more skeptical reader, I can only assume that they will not be moved much by Licona’s argument.

What we have here is an extensive work on the historiography of the resurrection of Jesus.  This work is well researched.  While scholarly in nature, I did not find Licona’s writing to be uber-academic, in fact, I found his writing style to be very easy to read.  It is the denseness of the topic itself that turns this work into a tedious read (only at times).

I highly recommend this book.

Disclaimer:

I received this book free from InterVarsity Press. Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

