How I View Scripture

What started out as a discussion on Twitter has turned into a mulit-blog work.  Joel and Christian have already provided their answer and Rod is forthcoming.

When the question on how I view Scripture was posed, like Joel and Christian, I immediately thought of 2 Timothy 3:16-17:

All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, so that everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work.

I do not agree with an inerrant view of the Bible especially when it comes to language concerning the original documents mainly because we don’t have the original documents! In short: Is the Bible divinely inspired? Yes.  God, through the Holy Spirit inspired the biblical authors and redactors.  God did not dictate the Bible, nor did the Bible fall from the sky in its completed, final form.  Is the Bible inerrant? No.

Some other notes about how I view Scripture:

  • I fall somewhere between sola scriptura and prima scriptura,
  • I do not believe in a literal view of interpretation.  At the same time, I do not believe in a completely metaphorical view of Scripture.  I use Literary Criticism as a tool and interpret based on the genre of scripture (history is interpreted as history, myth as myth, etc.),
  • Scripture is both Law and Gospel,
  • Scripture interprets Scripture (thanks to Anna for pointing out that I missed this one), and,
  • Interpretation of Scripture happens in community,
  • The Bible was written in a particular context; however,
  • The Bible still speaks to us today.

While my theology does tend to lean liberal, I think liberal Christianity needs to reclaim a higher view of Scripture.  This might just be a holdover from by Baptist days.

Anyways, my view of the Bible is currently in flux.  There was a point when I had a very high view of Scripture and held to an inerrant view.  Over the course of my life, I have swung to the other extreme and am now somewhere in between.  I might ask questions that sound like I hold to a low view of Scripture, but don’t let that fool you.  I just like to play Devil’s Advocate. 😉

9 thoughts on “How I View Scripture

    • Anna,
      Thanks for pointing that out. Things have just been crazy busy this week as I’ve been planning a retreat for this weekend and I rushed to get this done.

  1. Pingback: Katie’s Cannon(ization): Inerrancy As White Evangelical Folklore | Political Jesus

  2. Pingback: Articles of Interest for Scriptural Study | Moje Da Poet: Meditations & Musings

  3. Pingback: Articles of Interest for Scriptural Study « Variegated Vision

  4. Pingback: Changing Views « Simul Iustus et Peccator

  5. Pingback: Unorthodoxically Orthodox - Part I | Homebrewed Theology

Leave a Reply

