Review: Washed and Waiting

Washed and Waiting: Reflections on Christian Faithfulness and Homosexuality

Author: Wesley Hill

Paperback: 160 pages

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN: 978-0-310-330033-5

Zondervan

Amazon

Wesley Hill starts off by describing his own situation and where he’s coming from in this reflection.  Hill states that his experience is different from both those in mainline protestant churches that have a “homosexual holiness” narrative and those in the evangelical churches that have experienced a transformation because of Christ.  “So this book is neither about how to live faithfully as a practicing homosexual person nor about how to live faithfully as a fully healed or former homosexual man or woman.” (15-16)  This book, according to Hill is about “how, practically, a nonpracticing but still-desiring homosexual Christian can ‘prove, live out, and celebrate” the grace of Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit in homosexual terms.” (16)

I can appreciate the position that Hill is coming from.  I might not agree with it, but I can definitely respect it.  I can respect it because he’s talking about his understanding of Scripture.  But in the midst of discussion his understanding, he also bring to the table the opposite argument.  He discuss why arguments don’t seem compelling.  He doesn’t dismiss those arguments, but rather discusses the difficulty in begin a celibate, homosexual Christian.

Overall, I found this an interesting read.  It didn’t take me long to get through the book (the book comes in at 160 pages, and the book is smaller than the usual book).  Hill uses his own personal journey and weaves in his own reflection of living as a celibate, homosexual Christian.  This book is well worth the read.

Disclaimer:

I received this book free from Zondervan as a part of the Washed and Waiting Blog Tour. Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review. The opinions expresses in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

8 thoughts on “Review: Washed and Waiting

  1. Pingback: This Week: Washed and Waiting Blog Tour « EngagingChurch

  2. Pingback: This post has nothing to do with Washington's Birthday | Till He Comes

    • Jeremy,

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my review.

      Your question isn’t pinning me down, and as I looked over the sentence again…yeah, just awkward. Anyways, no, I don’t agree with Wes Hill’s position, but like I said, I can respect it. The main reason has to do with the Greek arsenokoitai. The more I read, the less I believe it means what more conservative Christians say it does. Just my 2 cents and I certainly welcome dissenting opinions.

  3. Thanks, Craig, for this post. I’m sure there’s more to your position than the meaning (one way or the other) of *arsenokoitai* in 1 Cor 6.9, and I just wanted to say, for what it’s worth, that I agree with you about not wanting to base too much of the “traditional” or “conservative” viewpoint on the meaning of that word. My understanding of the moral status of gay relationships would have a lot more to do with Genesis 1-2 and Matthew 19.4-6 than it would with 1 Cor 6.9.

    But, as I said, thanks for the post. I appreciate your help in letting people know about the book.

    • Wesley,

      Thank you for taking the time to comment here. It was an interesting book and I’m glad I got a chance to read it. I think your book provides an important and overlooked perspective on the debate taking place in churches all over the world.

  4. Pingback: This post has nothing to do with Washington's Birthday

Leave a Reply

