Like to Read? Great Question from Michael Hyatt

Michael Hyatt, Chairman and CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers asked this question earlier today.

I have to agree with him.  What is the point of only reading books you agree with?  You’re not going to be challenged.  You’re not going to grow.  All that going to happen is your point of view is going to be reinforced.  I’m not saying stop reading book you agree with.  I’m saying supplement that with books that you don’t agree with.

I know my worldview has changed because I’ve read a book or two that I didn’t necessarily agree with.  But as I read, I came to understand a differing opinion and that differing opinion made me rethink my position.  Sometimes my position changed.  Other times it didn’t.

One thought on “Like to Read? Great Question from Michael Hyatt

  1. I don’t tend to read books by conservative Christians. I figure I came from there and already understand their thinking.

    Sam
    Sam-betweenhereandthere.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

