Review: Chasing Francis

Chasing Francis: A Pilgrim’s Tale

Author: Ian Morgan Cron

Paperback: 256 pages

Publisher: NavPress

ISBN: 978-1-57683-812-9

NavPress

Amazon

Reviewing fiction normally isn’t my thing, but every now and then I figure, what the heck, it won’t hurt…and, to be quite honest, I was getting burned out reading theology, so this was a breath of fresh air.

The book is “written in a genre called wisdom literature, which is a very delicate balance of fiction and nonfiction, pilgrimage and teaching” (8) and deals with “how Francis’s unique spin on ministry and the spiritual life might ass something to the conversation about church in these postmodern days.” (7)

I found this to be an interesting book.  The basic premise is a pastor (Chase Falson) of a non-denominational church loses his religion (literally and figuratively) during a sermon.  At the behest of the elders, said pastor takes a sabbatical in Italy with his uncle (Uncle Kenny), a Franciscan monk.  While on this sabbatical, the pastor begins a pilgrimage, learning about St. Francis of Assisi.

There is a study guide at the end of the book.  While I did not go through and answer the questions for myself, I did give them a once over.  Some of the questions looked compelling.  Maybe the next time I read this book, I’ll work through theses questions.

The book did not take me long to read. I thought the book was well written and inspiring.  Sadly, my knowledge of St. Francis is lacking, but fortunately Cron has an extensive bibliography that lists many books dealing with Francis’s life and spirituality.  So if you’re like me, you might want to check out some of these books.

I think this book is desperately needed in today’s “Christian wars.”  All too often we hear statements like,  “Catholics are not Christians.” or, “Emergents/Postmoderns are not Christians.”  Cron even makes reference to this in the book.  I think that this book challenges those who make those claims.

I thought the book was inspiring and reminded me of my own faith journey.  I don’t know what led me to get this book to review (quite possibly the Holy Spirit?), but I’m glad I did.  I will be recommending this book to the book club at the congregation I work at and I hope that they consider this as one of their picks.

Disclaimer:
I received this book free from SpeakEasy Blog Network. Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 thoughts on “Review: Chasing Francis

  1. Your blog has transmogrified yet again. Fortunately, the trajectory has been in a positive direction! I like this new look and it suits your biblioblogging well.

    Have a great Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

