Review: Sun Stand Still

Sun Stand Still

Author: Steven Furtick

Publisher: Multnomah Books

Paperback: 224 pages

ISBN: 978-1-60142-332-1

Multnomah

Amazon

This is one of those books that I would not have picked up on my own.  But, I decided to give this one a try.  Prior to reading this book, I had no clue who Steven Furtick was.  I had never even heard of Elevation Church prior, despite living in Columbia, SC for three year (90 minutes south of Charlotte).

Furtick and I come from two different faith traditions (Furtick studied Divinity at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary and I studied Divinity at Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary), so we have differing theologies.  Something like the Sinner’s Prayer isn’t even in my repertoire.

Just a side note: I am using the Advance Reading Copy of Sun Stand Still.  Page number might not match the final copy.

In Sun Stand Still, Furtick wants to help the reader rediscover and live life with an audacious faith.  According to Furtick, “Audacious faith is the raw material that authentic Christianity is made of.  It’s the stuff that triggers ordinary level-headed people like you and me to start living with unusual boldness.  When you live this way, your eyes will be opened to see your day-to-day life in vivid color.” (6)

While not bad, there was something about “Sun Stand Still” prayer that I didn’t like.  It has nothing to do with the theology behind the concept for the pray.  And I get where the name for this kind of prayer came from.  I just didn’t like the phrasing of the name.  Audacious prayer sounds a little better.

Using the example of Joshua’s prayer in Joshua 10, in which God stopped the sun in the sky, Furtick lays out the ground work for what he calls the Sun Stand Still prayer.  This is the type of prayer in which we ask God for the impossible.  According to Furtick, “Sun Stand Still is a metaphor for the seemingly impossible things God wants to do in and through your life.  A Sun Stand Still prayer is a clearly defined need or goal that requires God’s supernatural involvement.” (31)  This idea is expanded upon throughout the rest of the book.  It’s an interesting take on Joshua 10 and how it relates to our lives today and not one I would have immediately picked up on.

Sun Stand Still was not a particularly difficult book to read, in fact, Furtick has written the book with the masses in mind.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing.  Not everyone is in the same place on their spiritual journey.  On more than one occasion, Furtick points out that he’s going to leave the deep, theological discussions for the scholars, which I think shows some humility on Furtick’s part.

Theological differences aside, I found this book to be interesting.  It made me think and reflect on my own prayer life and my view of God.  It’s a fairly quick read.  In my opinion, Furtick does a good job at explaining his concepts and ideas well enough that anyone can pick up this book and read it.  All in all, it’s a descent book to read.

Disclaimer:

I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah. Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

