Review: Nudge

Nudge: Awakening Each Other to the God Who’s Already There

Author: Leonard Sweet

Publisher: David C. Cook

Hardcover: 336 pages

ISBN: 978-1-4347-6474-4

David C. Cook

Amazon

I’m a fan of Leonard Sweet.  I’ve heard him speak before.  In fact, the church I worship at is using his keynote from our synod’s 2009 assembly as a starting point for a conversation on mission.I’ve read a few of his books.  I liked Aquachurch 2.0 and I loved Jesus Manifesto with Frank Viola.  But for some reason, I had a really hard time getting into Nudge. I was reading the words on the page, but nothing really jumped out at me or stuck with me.

According to Sweet, there is a disconnect between evangelism and discipleship, thus the need for Nudge.  In Nudge, “evangelism is discipleship.”  (21)  Nudge evangelism is paying attention to God and reading the signs.  It is about meeting people where they are, hearing their story, planting the seed, and watching what God does with that seed.

The book is broken down into two section.  In the first part, Sweet lays the ground work; discussing semiotics and reading signs and how this relates to nudge evangelism.  In the second part, Sweet discusses the semiotic 5 (Pause, Presence, Picture, Ponder, Promise) in more depth, spending a chapter on each one.

As I read through the first part, I felt overwhelmed at times seeing all the “Nudgers do…” and “Nudgers do…”  There’s no way I can possible remember all of what nudgers do. I felt that there was too much information at once.  I was suffering from sensory overload.

Deep down, I feel that this book is needed in the church today.  For that reason, I plan to revisit this book in the future.

Disclaimer:

I received this book free from theOOZE.com as a part of the Viral Bloggers program. Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

