August Giveaway: New Oxford Annotated Bible w/ Apocrypha

I have an extra copy of the New Oxford Annotated Bible w/ Apocrypha, 4th edition (NRSV) that I will be giving away.  You can read my review of the NOAB4 here.

The rules are simple:

*1 comment=1 entry

*Enter as many times as you want

The contest will run from now until 11:59pm Pacific on August 31st.

I will not respond to any questions here.  If you have any questions, feel free to email me, message me on Facebook, or direct message me on Twitter.

Update: This contest has ended.  Comments are now closed.

260 thoughts on “August Giveaway: New Oxford Annotated Bible w/ Apocrypha

  1. Just wanted to say that I purchased this Bible last month and have been reading it daily ever since. It’s a great study Bible.

    Also, don’t consider me for the giveaway please. It looks like Joel might want a copy, heh.

  2. αποκαλυψις ιησου χριστου ην εδωκεν αυτω ο θεος δειξαι τοις δουλοις αυτου α δει γενεσθαι εν ταχει και εσημανεν αποστειλας δια του αγγελου αυτου τω δουλω αυτου ιωαννη

  3. ος εμαρτυρησεν τον λογον του θεου και την μαρτυριαν ιησου χριστου οσα ειδεν

  4. μακαριος ο αναγινωσκων και οι ακουοντες τους λογους της προφητειας και τηρουντες τα εν αυτη γεγραμμενα ο γαρ καιρος εγγυς

  5. ιωαννης ταις επτα εκκλησιαις ταις εν τη ασια χαρις υμιν και ειρηνη απο ο ων και ο ην και ο ερχομενος και απο των επτα πνευματων α ενωπιον του θρονου αυτου

  6. και απο ιησου χριστου ο μαρτυς ο πιστος ο πρωτοτοκος των νεκρων και ο αρχων των βασιλεων της γης τω αγαπωντι ημας και λυσαντι ημας εκ των αμαρτιων [ημων] εν τω αιματι αυτου

  7. και εποιησεν ημας βασιλειαν ιερεις τω θεω και πατρι αυτου αυτω η δοξα και το κρατος εις τους αιωνας αμην

  8. It won’t work, Joel. I know because I tried the same thing on your blog and *still* failed to nab the book!

  9. Pingback: Sunday Thoughts – 8/1 | The Church of Jesus Christ

  10. I have the 3rd Edition. I’d love to compare them, but Joel will probably win this Bible even though he is just going to use it to prop up his NLT when he reads.

    • 4 But if we say that the flesh is the Church and the spirit Christ, then he that hath shamefully used the flesh hath shamefully used the Church. Such a one then shall not partake of the spirit, which is Christ.
      5 Such life and incorruption this flesh can partake of, when the Holy Spirit is joined to it. No one can utter or speak “what the Lord hath prepared” for His elect.
      (2Cl 14:1-5 APE)

  11. Pingback: Sunday Thoughts – 8/1 | Christian Articles and videos

    • 3 Now the Church, being spiritual, was manifested in the flesh of Christ, thus signifying to us that, if any of us keep her in the flesh and do not corrupt her, he shall receive her again so in the Holy Spirit: for this flesh is the copy of the spirit. No one then who corrupts the copy, shall partake of the original. This then is what He meaneth, “Keep the flesh, that ye may partake of the spirit.”

    • 2 I do not, however, suppose ye are ignorant that the living Church is the body of Christ; for the Scripture saith, “God made man, male and female.” The male is Christ, the female is the Church. And the Books and the Apostles plainly declare that the Church is not of the present, but from the beginning. For she was spiritual, as our Jesus also was, but was manifested In the last days that He might save us.

  12. Wherefore, brethren, if we do the will of God our Father, we shall be of the first Church, that is, spiritual, that hath been created before the sun and moon; but if we do not the will of the Lord, we shall be of the scripture that saith, “My house was made a den of robbers.” So then let us choose to be of the Church of life, that we may be saved.

  13. This is a story all about how
    My life got flipped-turned upside down
    And i liked to take a minute
    And sit right there
    And tell you how I became the prince of a town called Bel Air

  14. [verse 2]
    In west Philadelphia born and raised
    On the playground was where i spent most of my days
    Chillin out maxin relaxin all cool
    And all shootin some b-ball outside of the school
    When a couple of guys
    Who were up to no good
    Startin makin trouble in my neighborhood
    I got in one lil fight and my mom got scared
    She said your movin with your auntie and uncle in bel Air i pegged and pleaded with her day after day but she packed my suitcase and sent me on my way she gave me a kiss and then she gave me my ticket so i put my walkman on and said i might as well kick it

  15. [verse 3]
    first class yo this is bad drinkin orange juice out of a champaine glass is this what the people of bel air live like hmm this might be allright but wait i hear persy boy liein is this the type of place they should send this cool cat i don’t think so we’ll see when i get there i hope they’re prepared for the prince of bel air

  16. [verse 4]
    well ah when the plain landed and i came out there was a dude that looked like a cop standin there with my name out i aint tryin to get arrested yet i just got here i sprang with the quickness of lightning and dissapeared I whistled for a cab
    And when it came near
    The license plate said fresh and it had dice in the mirror
    If anything i can say this cab is rare
    But i thought naw forget it yo homes to Bel Air

  17. [verse 5]
    I pulled up to the house about 7 or 8
    And i yelled to the cabyo homes smell ya later
    I looked at my kingdom
    I was finally there
    To sit on my throne as the Prince of Bel Air

  18. Okay, i’m back. I added the link to my monthly giveaway widget and will try to tweet it once a day. You can too, of course.

  19. Pingback: Tweets that mention August Giveaway: New Oxford Annotated Bible w/ Apocrypha « Simul Iustus et Peccator -- Topsy.com

    • NRS Acts 3:21 who must remain in heaven until the time of universal restoration that God announced long ago through his holy prophets. (Act 3:21 NRS)

      There is nothing more imperial than sending everyone to hell, Rodney, even if they had no chance to no Christ.

  20. The lady of the lake, her arm clad in the purest shimmering Samite, held aloft Exclibur from the bosom of the water, signifying by divine providence, that I, Arthur, was to carry Excalibur. THAT is why I’m your king!

  21. Speaking of my paper, my laptop and books are sitting at the table asking me–“What the heck are doing commenting when you have writing to do?!?”

    • Took the day off. The politics of it all is just getting too me and turning me into someone that I don’t like. I prefer Justice, not what is going. on.

    • Good for you! I am trying to figure out when I officially graduate. Classes have been over for a while, and the academic calender says 30 July…. but….

      Also applying at United Theological Seminary.

    • Don’t tell Marv that. Some believe that you see anything by an overly simplistic view of Scripture, you disbelieve God Himself.

  22. I am new and just stumbled upon this blog when googling “cheapest price for NOAB”. I am married with kids and in studies for Ordination and would like the NOAB 4th edition for my formation. A sponsor-pastor helps me pay tuition so I do a lot of online seeking for cheap textbooks. I have the NISB, so if someone needs the NOAB-4 more than me that’s cool. Would simply like it so that I have at least 2 worthy study Bibles to use. I will ony enter ONCE because as I see it…if I am meant to have it then I will. 🙂 Thanks.

  23. I just came along here as well. It would certainly be interesting to check out this Bible, as I normally use ESV (The Lutheran Study Bible -by Concordia Publishing House) and NIV (Concordia Self-Study Bible). I’ve not read the entire Apocrapha before, and while I do not believe that doctrines should be based on apocraphal literature, it can be good for reading. I didn’t realize that you have contests for Bible giveaways. I think it’s a great idea!

  24. It looks as though the notes are more thorough in the fourth edition than in the third. This is to be considered an entry for your contest. Peace!

  25. I am not familiar with the New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha, but I would like to have a copy of this Bible.

  26. Well…today is the day of reckoning for the NOAB-4. My New Testament class starts on Sept 14 so I am keeping myt fingers crossed…:)

  27. Wow Joel…man thanks but if you are a sem too and need it more and if you win then keep it. I am humbled and quite honored.

Comments are closed.