Anne Rice Gives Up Christianity

This is an interesting article…Ann Rice has decided up leave Christianity.

From Anne Rice’s Facebook page:

For those who care, and I understand if you don’t: Today I quit being a Christian.  I’m out.  I remain committed to Christ as always but not to being “Christian” or to being part of Christianity.  It’s simply impossible for me to “belong” to this quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious, and deservedly infamous group.  For ten years I’ve tried.  I’ve failed.  I’m an outsider.  My conscience will allow nothing else.

And:

As I said below, I quit being a Christian. I’m out. In the name of Christ, I refuse to be anti-gay. I refuse to be anti-feminist. I refuse to be anti-artificial birth control. I refuse to be anti-Democrat. I refuse to be anti-secular humanism. I refuse to be anti-science. I refuse to be anti-life. In the name of …Christ, I quit Christianity and being Christian. Amen.

Once again, this raises the question of can one be Christian outside of the Church?  Is it possible to be “spiritual, but not religious?”

Anne Rice: ‘I Quit Being A Christian’ | The Huffington Post

17 thoughts on “Anne Rice Gives Up Christianity

    • Hey Brian,

      Thanks for stopping by. It’s always good to see people I’ve interacted with on other blogs stop here and grace me with their presence.

      Would you mind expanding on your comment? I’d like to hear more.

      • Craig,

        I see you’ve seen the long conversation going on at my blog. To simplify what I have been saying there: I don’t think anyone can claim to love Christ while not loving and refusing the identify with his followers. As he said, “The world will know that you are my disciples because of your love one for another.”

  1. Is one ouside of the church if one believes in Christ? Can one “quit” the church and not “quit” Christ? Or vice versa? I’m not certain that one can, though I am also not certain quitting either/both is as black and white as whether or not one’s name is on a church member roster.

    Additionally, what thinking person converts to Christianity in their adulthood and does not recognize that we are “quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious, and deservedly infamous group” in addition to some good things too?What charlatan told her we were not the place for all the struggling sinners and why was she foolish enough to believe it if they did? I was under the, perhaps delusional, impression that people who converted to Christianity and joined a church did so because of Christ not because we were all a nice group of nicey nice people who played well with others and all agreed on everything and were without flaw.

    • Additionally, what thinking person converts to Christianity in their adulthood and does not recognize that we are “quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious, and deservedly infamous group” in addition to some good things too?What charlatan told her we were not the place for all the struggling sinners and why was she foolish enough to believe it if they did? I was under the, perhaps delusional, impression that people who converted to Christianity and joined a church did so because of Christ not because we were all a nice group of nicey nice people who played well with others and all agreed on everything and were without flaw.

      I was going to make the comment that if she doesn’t like a “quarrelsome, hostile, disputatious, and deservedly infamous group” that she should quit humanity as well…just saying.

  2. Actually, I think this is a good thing. For quite some time, we have been insisting that moderate Muslims repudiate (or “refudiate” if you happen to be Palin) their fundamentalist brethren. It seems to me that this is exactly what Anne Rice has done as a Christian.

    Look at what has turned her off to the label of “Christian”: being anti so many things friends and family of hers are. She is repudiating the excess of religion, its abuses, she is not repudiating her faith.

    • Personal Failure,

      It’s always nice to get an outside opinion. I really appreciate it.

      There have been a lot of comments on Facebook very similar to what you’re saying. To some extent, I agree with you. I think Rice is trying to dis-associate herself from a certain group of Christians.

      Although not all Christians are anti-gay, anti-Democrat, anti-whatever. That seems to be a trend in the more Conservative, Fundamentalist denominations.

      I guess you could say I’m conflicted about all this. I can see both sides of the argument, but I’m not fully convinced by one or the other.

  3. I agree with you. So, I guess I’m not Christian either. In my opinion, yes, there is spirituality without the dogma of organized religion. I will never go back.

    AG
    ATlanta

    • spirit2go,

      Thank you for your comment.

      I’m not making any judgments on anyone being a Christian or not. If I came across that way, I apologize.

      Regarding your comment, would you care to share more about why you left organized religion? What experience(s) turned you off?

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Anne Rice Gives Up Christianity « Simul Iustus et Peccator -- Topsy.com

  5. Criag,

    No to the first question, but yes to the latter, but of course with some modifications. For example, I see a difference between “religious” Christianity and simple Christianity, but of course what I mean by “simple” needs some qualifications too. 😀

  6. I think it’s important to note Anne Rice’s comment that she remains “committed to Christ.” To me, it doesn’t sound like she’s giving it up all in favor of the universe as a deity or agnosticism or what have you. She’s giving up the Church – not religion: a Church which these days seems to have the most hateful among its most vocal; a Church which turns in on itself regularly to bite and draw blood over minor and major issues alike; and a Church which through history has been gentle and vicious, generous and greedy, often at the same time. Those who posted ahead of me have a good point that she should have known what she was getting into – the Church’s history is not exactly secret. However, I don’t think she can be blasted for growing tired of the rhetoric from both within and without. And really, if she’s still committed to Christ, the linguistically accurate term is still Christian. I think she’s shedding the modern/current meaning of the word which, unfortunately is more associated with intolerance rather than brotherly love these days.

    I think it’s foolhardy to assume that there is no religion outside the Church. People who choose to find ways of carrying on their religious life separate from the daily or weekly motions of religious service can still find solace and guidance in God. Some are prevented from belonging or attending and some just don’t feel that they belong but they still have a commitment to God. These people can still carry out the mandates of Christ I think it’s worth pointing out that Christ existed somewhat outside the accepted religious practices of his day. No, I’m not equating Rice or anyone else with Christ but just pointing to a history of Christians being a little different – thinking outside the box and doing what needs to be done to bring God’s message to a broken world.

  7. Pingback: More On Anne Rice « Simul Iustus et Peccator

  8. Pingback: Quitters « Shepherdess Writes

  9. .

    If I could meet her in person, I would
    love to say “Thank you Anne Rice –
    for so very articulately stating what
    I have felt in my heart for years” !!!!

    One’s ‘Faith-in-Christ’ should IN NO WAY
    be tied into the man-controlled ‘Religion’
    that so many refer to as “Christianity”
    (especially that apostate, psuedo-religious
    political-movement called ‘evangelicalism’)

    It took me forever to realize that my
    relationship with God (as established
    through Christ Jesus, God The Son) was
    IN NO WAY dependent on the apostate
    psuedo-religious movement sweeping
    America in the name of the “church”.

    If Christ were walking the earth today,
    a lot of these same “religious” types
    would be the first to demand that He
    be ‘crucified’ — and based merely on
    who He chose as FRIENDS (women,
    gays, foreigners, immigrants, the poor,
    the rejected, the downtrodden, the rich,
    men, old, young, happy, sad, and so on).

    The “evangelicals” (not to be mistaken
    for TRUE FOLLOWERS of Christ) and
    other “church” types have essentially
    hijacked the Christian ‘Faith’ in order to
    turn it into a mammon-worshipping,
    power-mongering, “Religion” of hate.

    These people are more akin to a system of
    ANTI-CHRIST (i.e. “against”-Christ) than
    to anything tied into WHO CHRIST IS.

    Their evil has reached such profound levels
    that even people who know and love Christ
    are turned off from them and their words
    (again proving these “church” types are
    really nothing more than anti-Christ,
    self-righteous Pharisees and are not
    even remotely related to Jesus Christ).

    Never again will I waste my time stepping
    into the psuedo-religious social-club that
    is known as “church” or associate myself
    with the political-clique that is known as
    ‘christianity’ — because FROM NOW ON
    — I realize that I do NOT “need” either
    in order to have a relationship with MY
    LORD JESUS CHRIST (in fact, those
    two entities were actually ‘interfering’
    with my relationship with God)

    THROUGH CHRIST — GOD HAS OPENLY
    EXPRESSED HIS LOVE TO ‘EVERYONE’
    (no matter if rich, poor, gay, straight, male,
    female, sickly, healthy and so on) — AND
    CHRIST (not the so-called”church”) IS
    ‘THE DOOR’ and ‘THE WAY’ TO GOD!!

    ALL ARE WELCOME TO APPROACH AND
    TO ENTER THROUGH ‘THE DOOR’ TO GOD!!

    NO ONE IS REJECTED BY JESUS CHRIST !!!

    JESUS LOVED AND LOVES EVERYONE !!!

    LET’S ALL TRY TO REMEMBER
    THE BIBLE VERSE OF ‘JOHN 3:17’:

    “For God did NOT send His Son
    into the world – to condemn
    the world, BUT that the world,
    THROUGH HIM, might be SAVED !!!!”

    JESUS CHRIST – and *not* the institution known
    as “the church” or the religion called “christianity”
    — IS THE WAY, THE TRUTH AND THE LIFE!!!

    LIKE MANY OTHER PEOPLE – I AM DONE
    WITH THE CHURCH & WITH CHRISTIANITY
    — AND FROM HERE ON OUT – MY FOCUS IS
    ON (AND FAITH IN GOD RELIES IN) JESUS
    CHRIST AND JESUS CHRIST ALONE !!!

    .

Leave a Reply

