Immigration Quote of the Day

Yesterday, Scot McKnight had an interesting article on Evangelicals and Immigration.  As I was reading Scot’s post and the NYTimes piece, one quote really jumped out to me:

“My message to Republican leaders,” said the Rev. Samuel Rodriguez, the president of the evangelical National Hispanic Christian Leadership Conference and one of the leaders who engaged his non-Hispanic peers, “is if you’re anti-immigration reform, you’re anti-Latino, and if you’re anti-Latino, you are anti-Christian church in America, and you are anti-evangelical.”

HT: Scot McKnight

Obama Wins Unlikely Allies in Immigration | The New York Times

6 thoughts on “Immigration Quote of the Day

  1. Yes, we have to love the aliens, Because the second commandment of God is love your neighbor as you love yourself but we have a law that need to obey. Law is needed in every community to avoid any chaos in the community and everyone need to respect and comply on that law to maintain peace in order.

    • Actually, the Second Commandment is “Don’t take the Lord’s name in vain.” You’re thinking of the Jesus command in the Parable of the Good Samaritan.

      And nowhere have I said to abolish the law. Comprehensive immigration reform is what is needed, not that hate filled, xenophobic law that Arizona enacted.

      • Ignore my previous comment, I see what you mean by the second commandment (Matthew 22:37-40). The command from Christ regarding love of neighbor comes from Leviticus 19:18. If we look a few verses later in Leviticus 19:34, we see:

        The alien who resides with you shall be to you as the citizen among you; you shall love the alien as yourself, for you were aliens in the land of Egypt: I am the LORD your God.

        Now, like I said, above, I’m not saying to get rid of the laws. Building barriers and making laws tougher is not the solution. As the church, how can we be faithful to the command of God regarding aliens and still be faithful to the laws of the country? And when, if ever, is civil disobedience allowed because of a law conflicting with the Law?

  2. It looks like January is the busiest season for an “Immigration attorney in the US”. I’m very curious if this is the case with others. I suspect the reason I’m always busy in January is because people are getting their refund checks. All year long I offer payment options, but I just don’t get the same response as January. If you know of other ideas please do not hesitate to contact me.

Leave a Reply

