Review: ReChurch

ReChurch: Healing Your Way Back to the People of God

Author: Stephen Mansfield

Hardover: 192 pages

Publisher: Barna Books (An imprint of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.)

ISBN: 978-1-4143-3328-1

Tyndale

Amazon

I have to admit, I picked to review this book for selfish reasons.  There are many reasons why I am no longer a Baptist…one of them being, I was hurt by the church.  I have sense moved past my hurt, but recognize that everyday, someone is hurt by the church.  As someone who is on staff at a church, I need a resource to help people move past their hurt and come back to the body of Christ.  This book is that resource.

Mansfield sets the tone of the book from the first line of the preface:

You are likely reading this book because you believe that you have been hurt by a church or you know someone who has.  Or perhaps you were forced to witness a hurtful church fight, and the experience has wrenched your soul ever since.  Whatever the case, there was an incident, a turning point, and since then you have been different. (xvii)

I think he hits it right on the head.

Throughout the book, Mansfield lays out concrete ways to reflect on that experience that has scared us.  As Mansfield points out, it’s not going to be easy.  In fact, Mansfield says he is not going to take it easy on those of us who have been hurt by the church.  He is going to get tough with us.  That is the only way we can get free.  But in that being tough, Mansfield connects with and relates to his readers.  His tone is gentle, but firm because he’s been there too.

Overall, I thought the book was well written and easy to read.  I also liked that Mansfield shared his story, shared his grief in a way that connects with the reader.  In my opinion, this book is a must read for all church members.

Disclaimer:
I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their blog network  book review  program.  Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review.   The opinions expresses in this review are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Review: ReChurch

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review: ReChurch « Simul Iustus et Peccator -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

