Lenten Reflection-Day 2: Sacrifice

I appeal to you therefore, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God…  -Romans 12:1

When and how have you experienced the joy of sacrifice?

The first thing that pops into mind is getting married ;).  I joyfully sacrificed to share my life with my wife.

Seminary was also a sacrifice that I joyfully made.

Finally, there was my move out to Washington.  Sacrifices were made, but they were made for a good reason.

When do you experience the desire to give yourself more fully to God?  How do you respond?

This one is a no brainer.  I experience the desire to give myself more fully to God daily.  This is probably one of my first thoughts in the morning and one of my last thoughts before I go to bed.  Sadly, this is one area that I almost fail daily.  Things come up and get in the way.  I forget to read my Bible or I forget to do my devotions.  I get caught up playing on Facebook.  My sinful, broken self prevents me from giving myself more fully to God.

Leave a Reply

