Lenten Reflection-Day 1: Remembering

Yesterday, I began a 40 day Lenten Reflection on Romans 12.

I appeal to you therefore, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice…  -Romans 12:1a

Where or in whom do you experience the “mercies of God”?

God’s mercies never cease to amaze me.  I was just commenting to my wife the other night how amazed I am at how everything works out.  My wife found a job when she was 34 weeks pregnant that will allow us to pay for child care after she goes back to work and pay for my loans.

This isn’t the first time something like this has “worked out”.

Christian life is eucharistic (from the Greek word for “gratitude”).  In other words, we remember and give thanks for the giving of God.  What is the connection between the Eucharist or Holy Communion and your daily blessings?

I believe that in the Eucharist, we are fed and strengthened by God.  But it’s more than that.  It is God giving us grace through the body and blood of his Son, Jesus Christ.  This unites us with believers everywhere across time.  I believe that all my blessing stem from the Eucharist where I receive God’s grace as a free gift.

2 thoughts on “Lenten Reflection-Day 1: Remembering

  1. It is good to share our faith with others as we wait for His coming. Gods’ mercies are fresh every morning.And His love is ever lasting. Lamentations 3:21-26 has always been a blessing. Lamentations 3:21 – 26 (NRSV) 21 But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: 22 The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases,£ his mercies never come to an end; 23 they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. 24 “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” 25 The LORD is good to those who wait for him, to the soul that seeks him. 26 It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD.
    My blog is chuckhowi.wordpress.com come visit

  2. Just to add to my last reply, I now own my domain. It is now chuckhowi.com. Continue with the Lord, He is the only one to be praised.
    IN HIS GRIP
    cHUCK hOWI

Leave a Reply

