Christian ‘Watchblogs’?

So I’ve been around the blogsphere long enough to know about some Christian watchblogs.  In fact, I have one or two on Google Reader.  Now, I don’t have a problem with addressing another someone else’s post on your blog.  What I do have a problem with is when this turns into a war of the blogs or when it digresses to the point of ad hominem attacks. As Christians, we are called to speak the truth in love (Ephesians 4:15).  So often though, we leave out the in love part and just speak the cold, hard truth.  The arguments and attacks are nothing new and are usually on some long-running disagreement between Catholics, Lutherans, and Calvinists.

Outside of politics, I really only see this in religious blogs.  I don’t really see this kind of behavior on atheist blogs.  I’ve never seen Truelogic go after Neece and attack her atheistic views.  But with religious blogs, something is different.  I have to wonder how much dogma plays into this.

I read a lot of different blogs.  But you don’t see me going after Jim West every time he post something I don’t like…and Dr. West likes Zwingli!

Yes, I think doctrine should be debated and discussed.  But it should be done for the building up of the body (Ephesians 4:16), not for division.

6 thoughts on “Christian ‘Watchblogs’?

  1. I agree with your premise. All Christian denominations should stop acting like opposing aisles of Congress and unite under the banner of humility and harmony and allegiance to Christ.

  2. You don’t see that behavior on atheist blogs because atheism simply is lacking a god belief. It’s virtually impossible to have arguments about whether or not people are properly lacking in something.

    There was once a rather spirited argument about the use of atheist symbols on an atheist blog once, but it wasn’t nasty.

    • That’s why I said atheistic views and not atheist’s views on God.

      What I’m talking about here would be like someone who subscribes to strong atheism attacking someone who subscribes to weak atheism simply because their view of atheism was different.

      • As a secularist, I would have to correct you on this. There have been quite a few skirmishes in the atheosphere with regards to the accomodationist-hardline atheist divide, and some bloggers (Jerry Coyne and Matt Nisbet) have been quick to criticize the posts and articles written by the “other side”. Indeed, there has even been a minor brouhaha over the announcement that Chris Mooney, an accomodationist, would be hosting the premier secular podcast Point of Inquiry. He’s not atheist enough, it seems to some.

        So don’t worry, we on the secular side have our own ingroup/outgroup arguments that would rival Christian denominationalism. We’re all human.

      • Qohelet: Thanks for pointing that out. I stand corrected. You also got me interested a little, I might have to do some checking around.

Leave a Reply

