Review-The Gospel According to Lost

Like all books that begin with The Gospel According To…, I was hesitant to read.  It has been my experience that these books are really just a stretch.  But, being a fan of the show, I decided to give The Gospel According to Lost by Chris Seay a go.  My fear was confirmed from the second chapter onward.  Seay writes, “Yes, it is easy to look at lost as simply a good example of the most primal human conflicts, but doing so undermines the essence of the show.” (13)  No argument there.  Seay continues, “Ultimately it is about good versus evil, black and white, the Creator and the Adversary.” (13)  I’ll agree that the story is about good versus evil and as Seay points out, the characters in Lost often blur the lines between good and evil.  But Lost is about the Creator and the Adversary?  To me, that is where the stretch begins.  That really wasn’t made clear until the final episode of season 5 and it isn’t entirely clear right now.

The character assessments told a lot about the character and their back story, but loosely tied into Scripture.

In the end, I was left wanting more.  I don’t think Seay pushed the theological themes far enough, especially in his breakdown of the major characters.  I was left wanting Christ crucified for the forgiveness of sins, but only got a passing reference to justification by grace through faith.

I give this book 2 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer:
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.  Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review.   The opinions expresses in this review are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

3 thoughts on “Review-The Gospel According to Lost

  1. I should have added in there that I’ve been playing around with writing The Gospel According to Battlestar Galactica. I’ll just have to do it right…

  2. To me, this great book by Chris Seay played a very good role in creating and building much more excitement as all fans of LOST is in the process of discovering more and more especially now that season 6 currently showing.

    • I won’t deny that, but I’m not looking at the excitement the book created. I’m looking at it from a theological framework, and on that, sadly, it did not measure up.

Leave a Reply

