Frustration

So, I’m in a bad mood because I’m frustrated.  I’m frustrated and looking for a pity party.  I didn’t sleep well last night, my wife is in a bad mood, and to top it off, my internet went down for a few minutes (my first attempt to write this post).So here’s the deal.  I’ve been applying for jobs since about February.  I’ve applied for about forty jobs.  I’ve had several first interviews and even a second interview…but nothing.  Absolutely no job offer yet.  I feel forgotten.  I feel as if God led me down this path and then left me without a clue or a road map.  This must be how the Psalmist felt when he writes:

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?  How long will you hide your face from me? (Psalm 13:1)

or:

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?  Why are you so far from helping me, from the words of my groaning?  O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer; and by night, but find no rest. (Psalm 22:1-2)

That’s about how I feel right now.  There’s only so long I can hold onto Jeremiah 29:11:

For surely I know the plans that I have for you, says the LORD, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.

I guess you could say that I’m frustrated at God.  Before someone says, “Craig, you can’t be frustrated with God,” let me just say “Oh yes I can.”  The Bible is full of people expressing their frustration with God.  The Psalmist did it (see above if you don’t believe me), Jonah did it, and I can and will do it.  God, I’m praying for a job here, not patience.  Give me a sign that you’re not ignoring me!

What’s really bothering me is I’m probably getting beat out by people with BA’s.  I have a MDiv.  I have a lot more education than someone with a BA.  Church’s are looking for someone to teach their youth.  But they are unwilling to pay for someone who has the theological education that can help the youth grow.  Instead of putting their trust in God’s hand, they are letting the almighty dollar control who they hire.  (And yes, I’ve been told that congregations can’t afford to pay me what I’m worth.)

If you work in a Church and are hiring someone, please, heed my advice.  Be professional.  If you aren’t going to hire someone after you interview them, have the common courtesy to let them know.  Sure, I can figure it out on my own if I haven’t heard anything four weeks after an interview.  But that’s not the point and it’s not helpful to someone applying for the position to have the process dragged out that long.

2 thoughts on “Frustration

  1. I’m sorry about that. I really hate that, too, when you interview and it seems to be going well, and then nothing. It seems like common courtesy would demand that you at least send out a little “We’ll keep your resume on file” postcard.

  2. Powerful post. Much of what you share forms the reason why I wrote my book Pay Me What I’m Worth. Based on spiritual studies spanning 20 countries over 30 years, I’ve come to know how my worth – has less to do with what others pay me, but how I feel about what I do.

    True – from a financial standpoint, how could anyone pay anyone in money – what they’re worth when the person receiving money bases their sole value on a monetary yard stick.

    yes – we need to eat.
    yes – we need a place to call home
    etc.

    There’s other important needs to. I do what I do – often for people who have extremes amount of money – with no expectation that I’ll be ‘paid.’ Ironically, when I DO ASK folks – who can well afford $10.00 (or some such nominal token) you’d think I’d just committed a mortal sin!

    You bring up a great topic. This is the topic I’m hiring people to do study groups on. What you charge for these study groups is up to you. You earn what you feel you’re worth.

    Pax Vobiscum
    Soul

Leave a Reply

